Advent 2013 day 10 Sockgasm and cranberry desserts

I am tired so instead of recipes typed in by me, you get two that are directly from the internet.

Apple-Cranberry Pie from Runner’s World – Not the healthiest pie on the planet, but it’s got apples and fresh cranberries in it (along with cream cheese, oats, and other good things) and it was relatively fun to make and much more fun to eat.

Oatmeal Cranberry cookies – I found the recipe for these online last year and now it’s our favorite cookie. I’m making more tomorrow. These use dried cranberries and it makes them about a thousand times more interesting that cookies with raisins in them. The cinnamon, nutmeg, and cardamom make them really special.

The other thing that happened today besides a 25 km round trip bike ride to get my regular (every 2 months) bloodwork done – necessary to make sure my meds aren’t destroying my liver and to make sure I’m still basically mostly healthy – and the usual 3.5 hours of Aikido and a ton of work in between those two things is that I got to wear my new Christmas socks today. We exchanged gifts early because I am a five-year-old and couldn’t wait.

The feeling I get when I get to wear a new and soft pair of socks for the first time can be described better in German: Sockenvergnügen. Apparently this word did not exist until I entered Germany. The best English translation is: Sockgasm!

These big, fluffy socks have fleece on the inside. It's sort of like getting to wear Devil-Kitty on my feet all day long. He's in awe of the socks.

These big, fluffy socks have fleece on the inside. It’s sort of like getting to wear Devil-Kitty on my feet all day long. He’s demonstrating what the inside of these socks feel like for us.

In lieu of music today, here’s David Sedaris reading his hilarious Christmas essay 6 to 8 Black Men.

Leave a Reply

