Advent Day 7 Let it Snow

It snowed today.  A lot.  Well, a lot for Frankfurt. Not alot, mind you. A lot. (Yes, that link goes to a grammar rant, but it’s a funny one, you should definitely click on it.) So in the middle of all the snow fall, when all I really wanted to do was curl up under a pile of cats and play on the internet, instead I had to find some of my bike commuting winter wear (like my ugly pants – ugly but effective) and literally bike through a snowstorm in order to meet the Wife (who always gets capitalized because she’s German, in case you were wondering) and our friend S for a strength session at the gym. We’re using the Mark Allen 12 step program for recovering triathletes (you know what they say, once a triathlete, always a triathlete…) and I got to introduce them to the joys of the strength program today.  I got to show of how badass I am by showing off how I can bench press the bar. Yeah, I’m a stud. Then we had dinner at a new Persian restaurant that opened in our neighborhood recently. Persian food is yummy.

Also yummy, but not entirely Persian is hummus, which I’ve figured out how to make myself and it’s embarrassing how easy it is.  It requires 6 ingredients, only two of which are probably not in your kitchen right now, and a stick mixer.

Ingredients for Hummus:

  • 1 can drained chick peas (garbanzos, Kichererbsen) save 1/4 cup liquid from the can of chickpeas
  • 3‐5 tablespoons lemon juice (depending on taste)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

How to make the Hummus:

Put everything in a bowl and have at it with the stick mixer until it looks like hummus. Serve with pita bread, tortilla chips, tuna sandwiches, Ritz crackers, felafel, vegetarian wraps, whatever.

OK, this post is supposed to be about AC/DC and Advent.  Not disappointed today! A different design was in today’s chocolate! The AC/DC lightning bolt, yay! They clearly set me up with the repeats the last few days just to enhance today’s joy at finding something different. Lindt gave us a really tasty chocolate again with a warning about smiling enough to make the whole world happy or something bad might happen. And Choco-Santa no longer has the top of his head.

Look, it's the AC/DC backslash lightning bolt! Something different! Huzzah! Next to it is a post it note with some of my conceptualized artwork of the thing that might be a drummer, a juggler, a skier, or possibly the grim reaper

Look, it’s the AC/DC backslash lightning bolt! Something different! Huzzah! Next to it is a post it note with some of my conceptualized artwork of the thing that might be a drummer, a juggler, a skier, or possibly the grim reaper

Devil-cat is disdainful of AC/DC. He prefers Ozzy.

McKayla Devil-cat is not impressed. He prefers Ozzy.

And for no reason other than I was thinking about it today, here’s one of my favorite AC/DC songs and incidentally, the only one that I have ever sung in public (yes, I was drunk, no I wasn’t the only one – drunk or singing, and no, there is no video evidence. Thank goodness for coming of age in the days before phones that take video and instantly link them to social networking sites.)

And of course, Vaughn Monroe with the original Let It Snow (well, this is a 1965 live recording, he first recorded it in 1946, 4 years before Sinatra, 13 years before Dean Martin:

And a full 60 years before Twisted Sister covered it…

Now the computer is about to run out of battery, the Wife is already in bed, I’ve missed today by seven minutes, and the cats are insisting that I’m done.

Pay attention to us, cat-mommy! We're better than the internet cats!

Pay attention to us, cat-mommy! We’re better than the internet cats! (Also warmer.  And yes, that’s me under there somewhere.)

Leave a Reply

