Advent day 4 – The Bells, bells, bells, bells, and so on

Huzzah!  today is the first day we see an actual bell in the AC/DC Hells Bells Advent calendar. And a very confusing quote from Pascal about why searching for things is somehow better than having things or something like that.  I don’t know, it’s in German and there were too many pronouns for me to make any sense out of it.  But then again, he’s a philosopher and a mathematician, it probably wouldn’t have made much sense anyway. Today hasn’t been particularly fun.  Was at the dentist for a cleaning.  She complimented me on how nice my teeth are.  That doesn’t mean I don’t have to come back twice more in the next couple of weeks, but apparently all the flossing I’ve been doing lately has payed off. Then I couldn’t eat for a while because of the fluoride, went to work out, had a drink with the group for a birthday, and finally got home around 11 pm to find that Wife had made us amazingly delicious chicken legs, mashed potatoes, and this wonderful vegetable involving bell peppers, an onion, an apple, and red wine. As soon as I get her to give me an outline of her method, I’ll post it here because it was divine. Unfortunately, I was so hungry that I forgot to take a photo of the marvelous dinner, so you’ll just have to take my word for it that my wife makes amazing dinners.

Finally, on day 4 we have our first hellish bell. Or maybe it's a fire hydrant, or a very short cannon, or a keg of beer, possibly a hedgehog, a certain part of male anatomy, or R2D2. We'll never know for sure.

Finally, on day 4 we have our first hellish bell. Or maybe it’s a fire hydrant, or a very short cannon, or a keg of beer, possibly a hedgehog, a certain part of male anatomy, or R2D2. We’ll never know for sure.

Hell’s Bells.

Probably not the ones you hear on Christmas Day. Like the ones that Johnny Cash hears.

Did you know that Longfellow wrote the words to “I heard the bells on Christmas day”?

And since I’ve gone into poetry, here’s my favorite bell poem (at least the first stanza)

Hear the sledges with the bells –

Silver bells!

What a world of merriment their melody foretells!

How they tinkle, tinkle, tinkle,

In the icy air of night!

While the stars that oversprinkle

All the heavens, seem to twinkle

With a crystalline delight;

Keeping time, time, time,

In a sort of Runic rhyme,

To the tintinnabulation that so musically wells

From the bells, bells, bells, bells,

Bells, bells, bells –

From the jingling and the tinkling of the bells.

That’s Poe by the way. They would have made good heavy metal lyrics.  I checked, I couldn’t find any recorded performance, but I did find Joan Baez singing Annabel Lee, another of Poe’s famous ones:

It’s late, I’m tired, more interesting stuff tomorrow along with a report of my second swim and second strength workout of the off season.

Because being in the way is his sworn duty in life, Captain Dukie commandeers the potato chips, the mints, my inbox, and most of the table. And he will defend those things strongly if he has to.

Because being in the way is his sworn duty in life, Captain Dukie commandeers the potato chips, the mints, my inbox, and most of the table. And he will defend those things if he has to.

2 thoughts on “Advent day 4 – The Bells, bells, bells, bells, and so on

  1. Pingback: Advent Days 16 and 17 Beginning to look a lot like Christmas | lonwheels

  2. Pingback: Advent Day 20: Cat-astrophy! | lonwheels

Leave a Reply

