Advent Day 22 Excuses, but they’re good ones

We flew to the US on the 17th and silly me, I thought that through all the crazy holiday travel, I’d be able to keep this up. How wrong I was.

Also, this happened…

Here we are on the beach right after getting married, American style. Photo taken by one of my very lovely friends (Hi, Joeschlabotnik!) who could attend our middle of the workday gathering

Here we are on the beach right after getting married, American style. Photo taken by one of my very lovely friends (Hi, Joeschlabotnik!) who could attend our middle of the workday gathering

We have been officially joined in a civil partnership in Germany since 2011, so that is what we generally think of as our wedding day, but until this year (when DOMA was declared unconstitutional), the option of living in the US as a same-sex couple didn’t bring with it the same guarantees of personal safety and freedom from random deportation that it would for an opposite-sex pair so we have been living in Germany together where the civil rights are better, but the actual marriage is still denied to us.

We have remedied this omission. It was a very simple civil marriage ceremony at the town clerk’s office, followed by lunch with about 15 close friends and family. We wore white, felt beautiful, and finally got to be actual brides in the laws of at least one of our lands. I can’t think of a better way to have celebrated the return of the sun in the long, dark nights at the ending of the year.

And yes, in case you were wondering, our wedding day started with a run. My dearest wife, I want to run together with you in the sun (and the rain and snow, and dark) all the days of my life.

This one was taken by another of my very oldest and dearest friends, who also served as our witness, best man, and driver for the day

This one was taken by another of my very oldest and dearest friends, who also served as our witness, best man, provider of a honeymoon, and driver for the day. P – we can’t thank you enough for all that you did to help us through the day!

And so, dear internet, I admit that I don’t have the time to finish Advent out properly, but I have more recipes to post, triathlon tips to share, race reports to write, and I will see you in the new year!

Until then, we will share good food; love ourselves, each other, and our families; and celebrate our joy in the season!

Happy Solstice!

Happy Solstice!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: 2014 Resolutions and 2013 Wrap-up before it’s so late it’s irrelevant | lonwheels

Leave a Reply

